You are here

Department Administration

Kali Nikitas - Department Chair and Associate Professor
Email Kali Nikitas

Kali Nikitas is Chair of the BFA Graphic Design and BFA Illustration programs. She is also the Founding Chair of the MFA Graphic Design Program. She has taught or served in administration at Northeastern University, Minneapolis College of Art and Design, and The School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Kali has a unique design practice specializing in curating events and happenings that bring art and design to various communities in the US and Europe. Her design studio has produced award winning work for over twenty-five year. She serves on the Board of Inglewood Open Studios and the CalArts Alumni Council.

Riah Buchanan - Director of MFA Graphic Design and Associate Professor
Email Riah Buchanan

A part-time faculty member serving at Otis for over 10 years, Riah Buchanan teaches BFA and MFA Graphic Design students in both studio and theory seminars, and brings extensive teaching experience in UX/UI, experimentational media and technology, and branding to the department. She holds an MFA in 2D Design from Cranbrook Academy of Art and is pursuing a PhD from the Center of Digital Art and Experimental Media at the University of Washington. Her previous experience includes working at the American Civil Liberties Union and Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority.

MFA in Graphic Design Faculty

Current Visiting Faculty

  • Silas Munro
  • Ramon Tejada
  • Vera Van De Seyp
  • Yeywan Song
  • Juan Carlos
  • Rodriguez Rivera
  • Draw Down Books
  • Marie Hoejlund

A Selection of Past Visiting Artists

  • Actual Source
  • All the Way to Paris
  • Rejane Dal Bello + Chrys Naselos Studio
  • Braulio Amado
  • Laura Coombs
  • Corners
  • G Design
  • Janna Ireland
  • Jan en Randoald
  • Marcos Key
  • Nicole Killian
  • Roosje Klap + Niels Schrader
  • Eike K├Ânig (HORT)
  • Alexis Mark
  • MetaHaven
  • Moniker
  • Moonsick Gang
  • John Provencher
  • The Rodina
  • Jonathan Sangster
  • Sakaria Studio
  • Laurel Schwulst
  • Mindy Seu
  • Specht Studio
  • Piotr Szyhalski
  • Underwear