Otis College of Art and Design logo
Events
  • MFA Exhibition: Jamie Grace Davis

    Points of Departure

     

    1/28 Performaces

    1:00 - 1:10pm, 220V. 

    1:15 - 1:30pm,  ___________ships.

     

    1/31

    4 - 8:00pm, Closing Reception

     

  • Jason Bailer Losh lives and works in Los Angeles. He graduated with an MFA from the School of Visual Arts in New York. 
     
  • Ludovic Balland Typography Cabinet is a graphic design studio established in 2004 by Ludovic Balland. The studio focuses on book and editorial design, as well as new visual identities for international brands and cultural institutions.

     

    www.ludovic-balland.ch

    www.dar-news.com

  • Amy Adler

    Feb 03| Lectures
    More
    Amy Adler graduated from Cooper Union and received an MFA in Visual Art from UCLA and an MFA in Cinematic Arts from USC. She has had one person shows at the Museum of Contemporary Art Los Angeles, the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego and The Aspen Art Museum as well as galleries worldwide. 
     
  • Walk-thru the exhibition Shhhh led by the artist Angie Bray. Gain insight into Bray's work and to the exhibition, and hear about her process, materials, and philosophies on art-making and on quieting, listening, and looking.

  • Alex Israel

    Feb 10| Lectures
    More
    The work of Alex Israel is deeply entwined with his hometown of Los Angeles. The artist creates art that riffs on Hollywood culture and the cult of celebrity. His first major body of work consisted of rented studio props, transformed into readymades by their placement in the gallery—some blatantly obvious in their artificiality. He gave celebrities the same treatment in the video series “As It Lays”, video portraits based on campy TV talk shows.
  • Menno Cruijsen, Lava Design
    February 12, 12:30-1:30, Ahmanson 6th floor

    Lava was founded in 1990 by creative director Hans Wolbers (the Netherlands, 1965). The current team consists of 10 talented designers and three projectmanagers. The agency is focused on creative strategy, editorial design and dynamic identities.

    http://www.lava.nl

O-Tube

Curricular Connections: Inside the Quad

Inside the Quad

Freeway Studies #2: Inside the Quad  |  April 12 — July 27, 2014

Freeway Studies is a multi-year, contemporary art-focused curatorial project organized by Meg Linton, Director of Galleries and Exhibitions, with the assistance of Jeseca Dawson, 2012-2014 Curatorial Fellow, at the Ben Maltz Gallery at Otis College of Art and Design. Freeway Studies #2: Inside the Quad features the work of 31 contemporary artists whose studios are located within the borders of the I-405, 110, 10, and 105 freeways in Los Angeles. Over a six-month period Meg Linton and Jeseca Dawson visited nearly 100 artists working (and often living) in the designated area and each visit is documented on the project blog.


Press Release  |  Introduction Panel Text  |  Freeway Studies Blog

Information on Artists in the Exhibition
Anna Ayeroff  |  http://www.annaayeroff.com/  http://www.thetappancollective.com/anna-ayeroff.html Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQdbMJzuAZQ  Press  http://whitehotmagazine.com/articles/interview-with-anna-ayeroff/2233  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/anna-ayeroff-culver-city/
Juan Capistran  |  http://softestbulletevershot.com/  Video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xf_98RZgZ98  Press  http://www.austinchronicle.com/arts/2014-02-14/juan-capistran/   http://artforum.com/picks/section=us  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/juan-capistran-baldwin-hills/
Miri Chais  |  http://www.mirichais.com/  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KdHvH5cGVM  Press  http://www.kcet.org/arts/artbound/counties/los-angeles/miri-chais-los-angeles.html 
Brian Chambers  |  http://www.art.ucla.edu/gallery/2010-11/Senior2011.html  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/?s=brian+chambers 
Renée A. Fox  |  http://www.reneeafox.com/  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6T95tzWKmI  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gH7eAcnsPic  Press http://www.nytimes.com/2013/06/30/travel/arts-bloom-in-inglewood-calif.html?emc=eta1&_r=4&
Eben Goff  |  http://ebengoff.net/  Press  http://www.dianerosenstein.com/exhibitions/information/eben-goff-new-sculpture/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/eben-goff-west-adams/
Todd Gray  |  http://www.toddgrayart.com/  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yfaxjhLdk8  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sA2cavuTu8M  Press  http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/culturemonster/2010/08/todd-gray-and-kyungmi-shin-at-seeline-gallery.html  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/todd-gray-kyungmi-shin/
Nancy Jo Haselbacher  |  http://www.indeliblepress.com/  Video  http://vimeo.com/73584485   Press  http://aboutus.aju.edu/Default.aspx?id=3282  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/nancy-jo-haselbacher-culver-c...
Kathryn Jacobi  |  http://www.kathrynjacobi.com/  Video  http://vimeo.com/15407564  Press  http://mahvashmossaed.com/lifestyle/2013/07/20/exhibition-demossa-gallery-presents-kathryn-jacobis-organic-fractiles-july-21-october-20/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/inside-the-quad/kathrynjacobiwestad...
Annetta Kapon  |  http://www.annettakapon.com/Annetta_Kapon/Annetta_Kapon.html  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HfP_vPy6Ilg  https://vimeo.com/57883037  Press  http://www.frieze.com/issue/review/annetta_kapon/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/annettakaponculvercity/
Farrah Karapetian  |  http://www.farrahkarapetian.com/home.html  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfmVRj8Ducw  Press  http://www.artillerymag.com/farrah-karapetian/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/farrah-karapetian-baldwin-hills/
Soo Kim  |  https://artsy.net/artist/soo-kim  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVCsqhnzNkc  Press  http://articles.latimes.com/2012/nov/15/entertainment/la-et-cm-art-revie... Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/soo-kim/
Kohl King  |  http://kohlking.com/home.html  Press  http://www.artslant.com/la/events/show/294482-the-pussycat-challenge  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/kohl-king-baldwin-hills/
Noel Korten  |  Press  http://www.metro.net/about/art/artworks/reunion/  Studio Visit  https://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/noel-korten-baldwin-hills/
Mara De Luca  |  www.maradeluca.com  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aTv8sdUIwtg  Press  http://www.maradeluca.com/pages/press.html  Studio Visit  https://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/mara-de-luca-baldwin-hills/
Hazel Mandujano  |  http://hazelstuff.tumblr.com/   Press  http://grayareaprint.com/BANQUET-OF-THE-BLACK-JACKAL
Michael Massenburg  |  http://www.michaelmassenburg.com/#/home?i=351  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntebLQvnvI  Press  http://thesource.metro.net/2012/06/14/art-for-the-expo-line-all-in-a-day-by-michael-massenburg/  Studio Visit  https://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/michaelmassenburginglewood/
Marina Moevs  |  http://www.marinamoevs.com/  Press  http://www.artltdmag.com/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1268178531&arch... Studio Visit  https://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/marina-moevs-west-adams/
Warren Neidich  |  http://www.warrenneidich.com/   Video  http://vimeo.com/49965895  Press  http://www.lightwork.org/archive/warren-neidich/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/inside-the-quad/warren-neidich/
Numa Perrier  |  http://numaperrier.com/  Press  http://artvoicesmagazine.com/2013/09/numa-perrier/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/numa-perrier-leimert-park/
Pam Posey  |  http://www.pamposey.com/  Press  http://smdp.com/my-eyes-adore-you/116752?doing_wp_cron=1361990191.6350269317626953125000  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/inside-the-quad/pam-posey-palms/
Mei Xian Qiu  |  http://meixianqiu.com/  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMFgop9kgzM  Press  http://www.aptglobal.org/en/About/PressRoom/Article/40973
Christina Sanchez and Cayetano Juarez  |  http://www.sanchezjuarezstudio.com/  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6PsxGQG7M8  Press  http://slanguagestudio.com/tag/christina-sanchez/  Studio Visit  https://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/christina-sanchez-and-cayeta...
Christopher Kent Schumaker  |  http://christopherkentschumaker.com/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/christopher-kent-schumaker/
Luis Serrano  |  http://www.luisserrano.us/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/luis-serrano-baldwin-hills/
Kyungmi Shin  |  http://www.kyungmishin.com/  Video  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXNOHc-Fq50ideo  Press  http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/culturemonster/2010/08/todd-gray-and-kyungmi-shin-at-seeline-gallery.html Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/todd-gray-kyungmi-shin/ 
Lisa C. Soto  |  http://www.lisacsoto.com/  http://momaps1.org/studio-visit/artist/lisa-c-soto  Video  http://vimeo.com/64359531  Press  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/james-scarborough/mapping-in-a-major-and-m...
Christopher Warner  |  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/christopher-warner-inglewood/
Dana Weiser  |  http://www.danaweiser.com/  Press  http://www.minnpost.com/max-about-town/2011/10/adoption-and-identity-dan... http://www.koreanbeacon.com/2011/09/30/artist-dana-weiser-exposes-curren... Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/dana-weiser-culver-city/
Joe Wolek  |  http://www.joewolekprojects.com/  http://www.joewolek.com/  Studio Visit  http://blogs.otis.edu/freewaystudies/posts/joe-wolek-west-adams2/